iorewmarkets.blogg.se

Scrivener vs snowflake pro
Scrivener vs snowflake pro










scrivener vs snowflake pro
  1. Scrivener vs snowflake pro how to#
  2. Scrivener vs snowflake pro software#

Scrivener vs snowflake pro how to#

I’m going to assume that you know how to compost your story ideas and that you have already got a novel well-composted in your mind and that you’re ready to sit down and start writing that novel. It’s an informal process and every writer does it differently. This is an essential part of every book which I call “composting”. You think about what the book’s about - the Deep Theme. You start hearing the voices of different characters. You daydream about how the story’s going to work. If you’re like most people, you spend a long time thinking about your novel before you ever start writing. But part of the work is just managing your creativity - getting it organized into a well-structured novel. Part of this is creative work, and I can’t teach you how to do that. I claim that that’s how you design a novel - you start small, then build stuff up until it looks like a story. It doesn’t look much like a snowflake at first, but after a few steps, it starts looking more and more like one, until it’s done. If you press the right-arrow button repeatedly, you’ll see the steps used to create the snowflake. If you scroll down that same web page a little, you’ll see a box with a large triangle in it and arrows underneath. For our purposes, it’s just a cool sketch of a snowflake. Don’t tell anyone, but this is an important mathematical object that’s been widely studied. On the side of the page, you’ll see an animation of a pattern known as a snowflake fractal. OK, what’s the snowflake metaphor? Before you go further, take a look at this cool web site. I write novels the same way I write software, using the “snowflake metaphor”.

scrivener vs snowflake pro

Scrivener vs snowflake pro software#

Our fundamental question is this: How do you design a novel?įor a number of years, I was a software architect designing large software projects. This article will give you a powerful metaphor to guide your design. Design is hard work, so it’s important to find a guiding principle early on. I’ve done it both ways and I strongly believe that doing it first is quicker and leads to a better result. You can do the design work before or after you write your novel. Good fiction doesn’t just happen, it is designed. write your novel! The Importance of Design I’ll make the best case I can for my way of organizing things, but you are the final judge of what works best for you. If my methods get you rolling, I’ll be happy. Look it over, decide what might work for you, and ignore the rest! If it makes you dizzy, I won’t be insulted. So you can guess that a lot of people find it useful. Over the years, this page has been viewed more than six million times. This page is the most popular one on my web site, and gets over a thousand page views per day. One of my most popular lectures is this one: How to write a novel using what I call the “Snowflake Method.” I teach the craft of writing fiction at writing conferences all the time. I’ve published six novels and won about a dozen awards for my writing. In this article, I’d like to share with you what works for me.

scrivener vs snowflake pro

The best one for you is the one that works for you. If it were easy, we’d all be writing best-selling, prize-winning fiction.įrankly, there are a thousand different people out there who can tell you how to write a novel.












Scrivener vs snowflake pro